Bob Mackie Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie!

bananabarbie_1024x1024Ladies, brace yourselves for this immaculate creation by none other than Bob Mackie. Her name is Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie and she is one of the most gorgeous Barbie’s I have ever seen! As many of you already know from my previous posts about Bob Mackie, he has been a huge influence starting from my childhood. As a kid, I always somehow naturally gravitated to the most theatrical Barbie’s and it wasn’t until I got a little older that I realized they were all by the same man. So much of my history with Barbie has influenced the very limitless style I have today. Barbie was a chameleon and Bob Mackie Barbie’s were exhibitionists. I wanted to be the best of both. It doesn’t surprise me that he created a Barbie inspired by another one of my influences..The lady in the tutti frutti hat!carmen_miranda1242599098

The Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie reminds me of one of my favorite legendary Brazilian performers, Carmen Miranda. Carmen was a dancer, singer, Broadway actress, and film star who had this charismatic, energetic, vibrant, and whimsical way about her that captured the hearts of everyone all over the world. In 1941 she was one of the first latina’s to leave her hand and footprints in the sidewalk of the Grauman’s Chinese Theater and became the highest paid actress in the US just a few years later. She created her own signature look, a look that still inspires so many people today. Her costumes were bold, fun, and out of this world for that era and it is inspiring that she was courageous enough to do something different. So it is no surprise that Bob Mackie created a beautiful Barbie like this whose outfit was adorned with fruit, stripes, and flowers. Hell, I was so blown away by his creation that I just might be her for Halloween! It makes me feel complete that I just added her to my collection and I am going to let you know how you can win your very own Bob Mackie Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie inside!

carmen-miranda-ca-early-1940s-everettThe Beautiful Carmen Miranda a.k.a Maria do Carmo Miranda da Cunha.

Below is a compilation of her finest performances.

7This woman had the BEST shoe game and I nearly died when I saw the shoes Bob Mackie’s Brazilian Barbie is wearing!

IMG_1951      Unwrapping this Barbie gave me the best exciting anxiety.IMG_1967Wait for it…IMG_1955VOILA! The Bob Mackie Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie! Now say that 8 times without stopping!IMG_1965Her fruit basket hat, stripe skirt, and platform espadrilles make any girl swoon!IMG_1957I even love her makeup and giant gold hoop earrings! That adorable parrot is saying WEPAAAA!IMG_1959The Bananas are so sparkly!IMG_1960Now all Bob Mackie has to do is make this outfit for me in real life to wear this Halloween!

Want to WIN this beautiful Bob Mackie beauty? Here is how you can get your very own Barbie:

1. Follow @Bobmackie on Instagram

2. Upload an original photo inspired by Bob Mackie’s Brazilian Barbie and be sure to tag your image with #MackieBrazilStyle and @bobmackie.

All entries have to be in by February 5th and will be judged by me and 2 other bloggers based on creativity, composition, and style!

Visit www.Bobmackie.com/pages/rules for full contest rules.

Good luch loves!

5 Comments on “Bob Mackie Brazilian Banana Bonanza Barbie!

  1. Hi!

    Thank you so much for sharing a little bit of history with me! I LOVE classic films and vintage styles. I was watching the recent movie release Ganstar Squad the other day and they had a scene in the movie where a performer is dressed just like Carmen Miranda and she sings her song! Now it makes perfect sense! I will do some more research on Carmen. After watching the compilation video you posted above I’m intrigued to learn more about her and her films!

  2. I love Carmen Miranda. And she did have the bestest shoes. And Bob Mackie is the ish. As a little girl moms would let me stay up late to watch “The Sonny and Cher Show” and even at 5 years old I would drool over the Mackie cvostumes Cher wore.

  3. Wow, that is a fantastic Barbie. The instant I saw your first photo I thought about Carmen Miranda. I can’t wait to see your Halloween costume now!

Leave a comment